h1

Quan 88 – a Vegetarian’s prayers are answered on Victoria Street, Richmond

January 16, 2009

Quan 88 is only one of a number of much loved, reputed and frequented vietnamese restaurants along Victoria Street in Richmond.  I’m certainly not advocating that I’ve tried them all, or that it is the best of them.  However.  I am advocating you try a couple of particular dishes at Quan 88 that have always been, for me, top shelf vegetarian fare.  

The menu at Quan is typical Vietnamese with a dash of Chinese on the side – broken rice, noodles, rice dishes: a friend of mine who is not vegetarian swears by the Spicy Quail entree.  I can’t vouch for it, but encourage those with no qualms about crunching the body of small birds to give it an enthusiastic try. 

My mythologised dishes that I can’t ever do without, that are consistently magnificent and can’t help but induce euphoria are: 

entree:  vegetarian rice paper rolls with spicy satay sauce

main: lemongrass and chilli tofu (I ask for extra tofu) with rice. 

The rice paper rolls are fresh and tasty, but it’s the satay sauce which really makes this magnificent. They’re large and there’s 4 to a serve. So if you’re planning on having a main course as well, you should probably either share or save your appetite. 

The lemongrass and chilli tofu: well let’s just say it has been a long and arduous survey – still not complete- of the lemongrass and chilli dishes available not only in Melbourne but in any or all cities in which I find myself.  So far, the Quan lemongrass and chilli tofu is top of the list.  It’s not dry – but not completely ‘sauce laden’ either.  The taste is spicy, piquant, a little bombastic, slightly sour and tangy.  It’s just brilliant.  Very strong though, nothing subtle about this particular incarnation of the dish. 

All I can say is – I couldn’t be a bigger fan of this particular entree/maincourse combination. I recommend it to all of you – and with prices between $7 and $12 for most dishes it’s difficult to go wrong at Quan whatever you order. 

Details:

Quan 88

88 Victoria St
Richmond 3121 VIC
Phone: (03) 9428 6850

Sun-Wed 11am-10pm, Thu-Sat 11am-11pm
One comment

  1. Big fan of Quan! My partner and I are frequent visitors. Amazing service, amazing food, amazing prices. As stated, you can’t go wrong!



Leave a Reply

