h1

My inverse simulacrum: Melbourne Underground website

January 23, 2009

 

  I’ve been alerted to a site called Melbourne Underground.  Of course, I had to know more: it seemed like I may be about to stare into a mirror self.  Hmmm does this mean if I look into the their main page too long we both disappear, or become eachother? Or like Narcissus I fall in love with my mirror image? 

However, upon clicking into the site I saw the truth:  Melbourne Underground is quite a handy site about smaller scale music events in Melbourne.  It includes a gig guide, reviews, interviews, highlights bands, supports indie radio: yep – this seems to tick all the excellent boxes to qualify as promoting the underground in Melbourne’s music scene.  Also, they will publish your gig info and flyers if you send them your propaganda.  

The website is pretty basic, but in its favour it doesn’t tire or annoy with an overload of unnecessary flash. Instead the site gets straight on with the mission of promoting underground bands.  The emphasis is on indie and rock – not much experimental or electronic stuff here: but then again, if more electronic acts sent them promo I suppose there’d be more on their site.  That’s the beauty of a direct conduit. 

Check it out.

Leave a Reply

